History of DKM

The first league of German Kart racing consists of four grade series, the German Kart Championship (DKM/OK), the German Junior Kart Championship (DJKM/OK-Junior), the German Shifter Kart Championship (DSKM/KZ2) and the DMSB Shifter Kart Cup (DSKC/KZ2). The best international elite drivers meet during the course of these four series, initiated by the German Motor Sport Union e.V. (DMSB), and fight for the German Championship title. Within the racing season, the DKM is at the most state-of-the-art racetracks in Germany and the bordering countries. During a total of ten ranked races, the drivers fight for victories, cups and championship points.

In addition to exciting kart racing, the DKM proves its qualities due to a professional and experienced organizational team. Unique throughout the world in kart racing is Video-Race-Control, which records all incidents on the tracks with numerous cameras and thereby offers the persons responsible a chance to inflict penalties for unfair behavior.

In the year 2012 the DKM set new standards with Video-Livestream. All five racing weekends were transmitted to the World Wide Web via satellite, impressing audiences all around the world.


The German Kart Championship
Steppingstone for a racing career

The German Kart Championship (DKM) is Germany’s highest Kart racing grade and is seen as a steppingstone for new motorsports-talents. This has proven to be true again and again throughout the past years. The most famous examples are Formula-1-record-Worldchampion Michael Schumacher, DTM-Mercedes-Benz-driver Ralf Schumacher as well as youngsters Nico Hülkenberg, Formula-1-driver at the Sauber F1 team, Formula-1-triple-Worldchampion Sebastian Vettel and DTM-BMW-driver Timo Glock. All of them celebrated their first big victories in the DKM. Internationality has always played a huge role: since the 90ies, the starting field has always been manned with the most world-beating talents, making the DKM one of the strongest kart racing series in the world.

Age: 15 years and up
Chassis: optional by OK-regulations
Engines: optional by OK-regulations
Gear unit: directly powered
Cubic capacity: 125 ccm
Engine speed: 16000 r.p.m.
Performance: approx. 35 HP
Speed: 160 km/h
Overall weight: 145 kg

The German Junior Kart Championship
Youngsters put the pedal to the metal

In the year 2002, the German Junior Kart Cup was replaced by the DJKM, which doesn’t fall short in any way. Talented newcomers from Europe, Asia and America have become aware of the significance of this newcomer class and are therefore fighting for the German Junior Championship title in front of a huge audience. Due to the simultaneous taking place of the DKM, the youngsters are able to look over their more experienced colleagues’ shoulders and learn the tools of the trade of a kart driver under best conditions. This concept has proven to work during the past. Fast juniors were also able to satisfy after their rise to the German Kart Championship.

Age: 13 - 15 years
Chassis: optional by OK-Junior-regulations
Engines: optional by OK-Junior-regulations
Gear unit:

directly powered

Cubic capacity: 125 ccm
Engine speed: 14000 r.p.m.
Performance: approx. 25 HP
Speed: 140 km/h
Overall weight: 145 kg

The German Shifter Kart Championship
With high speed over the asphalt

Every motorsports-fan’s heart beats faster when the fastest driving field of the German Kart Championship starts its races. The drivers of the German Shifter Kart Championship rush over the asphalt with six gears and regularly take the audience’s breath away. Similar to the DKM, DJKM and DSKM, the starting field satisfies with a high quality. In the past, as many as four reigning and former Kart-World- and European Champions were at the start.

Age: 15 years and up
Chassis: optional by KZ2-regulations
Engines: optional by KZ2-regulations
Gear unit: 6-speed transmission
Cubic capacity: 125 ccm
Engine speed: 14000 r.p.m.
Performance: approx. 45 HP
Speed: 180 km/h
Overall weight: 175 kg

The DMSB Shifterkart Cup
„Second“ league of shifterkarts

In 2016, the DMSB Shifterkart Cup is going to celebrate its premiere. Next to the German Shifterkart Championship, the Cup is going to be the “second” league of shifterkart racing. Ambitious semi-professional race drivers and aspiring youngsters get the chance to prove themselves in the best surroundings and to gather experiences. To participate in the cup there are special regulations: Only drivers who haven’t gained any points at the EM (KZ and KZ2) during the past two years and who haven’t qualified for the final phase of a KZ WM are allowed to start. Moreover, the top ten drivers of the previous year’s DSKM are not allowed to start at the DMSB Shifterkart Cup. On the other hand the five best drivers of the DSKC won’t be allowed to compete at the cup again the following year but have to switch to the DKM or DSKM.

Age: 15 years and up
Chassis: optional by KZ2-regulations
Engines: optional by KZ2-regulations
Gear unit: 6-speed transmission
Cubic capacity: 125 ccm
Engine speed: 14000 r.p.m.
Performance: approx. 45 HP
Speed: 180 km/h
Overall weight: 178 kg

Geschichte der DKM

Die erste Liga des Deutschen Kartsports besteht aus vier Prädikatsserien, der Deutschen Kart Meisterschaft (DKM/OK), der Deutschen Junioren Kart Meisterschaft (DJKM/OK-Junior), der Deutschen Schaltkart Meisterschaft (DSKM/KZ2) und dem DMSB Schaltkart Cup (DSKC/KZ2). Die besten internationalen Elite-Fahrer treffen im Rahmen der vier Rennserien, ausgeschrieben durch den Deutschen Motor Sport Bund e. V. (DMSB), aufeinander und kämpfen um den Titel des Deutschen Kart Meisters. Innerhalb der Rennsaison ist die DKM auf den modernsten Rennstrecken Deutschlands und dem angrenzenden Ausland zu Gast. In insgesamt zehn Wertungsläufen kämpfen die Piloten um Siege, Pokale und Meisterschaftspunkte.

Neben spannendem Rennsport überzeugt die DKM mit einem professionellen und erfahrenen Organisationsteam. Zu den Highlights zählen eine Video-Race-Control, welche mit zahlreichen Kameras alle Geschehnisse auf der Strecke festhält und damit den Verantwortlichen die Möglichkeit bietet, unsportliches Verhalten zu ahnden. Neue Maßstäbe setzte die DKM im Jahr 2012 mit einem Video-Livestream. Alle fünf Rennwochenenden wurden per Satellit live ins World Wide Web übertragen und beeindruckten Zuschauer weltweit.


Die Deutsche Kart Meisterschaft
Das Sprungbrett für die Rennkarriere

Die Deutsche Kart Meisterschaft (DKM) ist das höchste Kartsportprädikat Deutschlands und zählt als Sprungbrett für neue Motorsporttalente. Dies hat sich in den zurückliegenden Jahren immer wieder bewahrheitet. Die berühmtesten Beispiele sind Formel-1-Rekordweltmeister Michael Schumacher, DTM-Mercedes-Benz-Pilot Ralf Schumacher, sowie die Youngsters Nico Hülkenberg, Formel-1-Pilot beim Sauber F1 Team, Formel-1-Dreifachweltmeister Sebastian Vettel und BMW-DTM-Fahrer Timo Glock. Alle feierten in der DKM ihre ersten großen Siege. Internationalität wird dabei großgeschrieben, seit Mitte der 90er Jahre ist das Starterfeld stets mit den weltbesten Talenten gefüllt und macht die DKM zu einer der stärksten Kartrennserien der Welt.

Alter: ab 15 Jahre
Chassis: freigestellt nach OK-Reglement
Motoren: freigestellt nach OK-Reglement
Getriebe: Direktangetrieben
Hubraum: 125 ccm
Drehzahl: 16000 U/min
Leistung: ca. 35 PS
Geschwindigkeit: 160 km/h
Gesamtgewicht: 145 kg

Die Deutsche Junioren Kart Meisterschaft
Youngsters geben Vollgas

Im Jahr 2002 löste die DJKM den damaligen Deutschen Junior Kart Pokal ab und steht seinem „großen“ Bruder in nichts nach. Talentierte Nachwuchspiloten aus Europa, Asien und Amerika haben den Stellenwert der Nachwuchsklasse erkannt und kämpfen vor großem Publikum um den Deutschen Meistertitel bei den Junioren. Durch die gemeinsame Austragung mit der DKM können die Youngsters den größeren Kollegen über die Schultern schauen und bei besten Bedingungen das Handwerkszeugs einer Rennfahrerin oder Rennfahrers erlernen. Dass dieses Konzept aufgeht, hat sich in der Vergangenheit bewiesen. Schnelle Junioren wussten auch nach ihrem Aufstieg in die Deutsche Kart Meisterschaft zu überzeugen.

Alter: 13 - 15 Jahre
Chassis: freigestellt nach OK-Junior-Reglement
Motoren: freigestellt nach OK-Junior-Reglement
Getriebe: Direktangetrieben
Hubraum: 125 ccm
Drehzahl: 14000 U/min
Leistung: ca. 25 PS
Geschwindigkeit: 140 km/h
Gesamtgewicht: 140 kg

Die Deutsche Schaltkart Meisterschaft
Mit Highspeed über den Asphalt

Wenn das schnellste Fahrerfeld der Deutschen Kart Meisterschaft auf die Reise geht, schlägt das Herz jedes Motorsportfans höher. Mit sechs Gängen rasen die Piloten der Deutschen Schaltkart Meisterschaft über den Asphalt und lassen regelmäßig den Atem der Zuschauer stocken. Ähnlich wie in der DKM, DJKM und DSKC überzeugt das Starterfeld mit einer großen Qualität. In den vergangenen Jahren war mehrfach amtierende und ehemalige Kart-Welt- und Europameister am Start.

Alter: ab 15 Jahre
Chassis: freigestellt nach KZ2-Reglement
Motoren: freigestellt nach KZ2-Reglement
Getriebe: 6-Gangschaltung
Hubraum: 125 ccm
Drehzahl: 14000 U/min
Leistung: ca. 45 PS
Geschwindigkeit: 180 km/h
Gesamtgewicht: 175 kg

Der DMSB Schaltkart Cup
„Zweite“ Liga der Schaltkarts

In 2016 feiert der DMSB Schalt Kart Cup seine Premiere. Neben der Deutschen Schaltkart Meisterschaft bildet der Cup die „zweite“ Liga im Schaltkartsport. Ambitionierte Semi-Profirennfahrer und aufstrebende Youngsters erhalten die Chance sich im besten Umfeld zu beweisen und Erfahrungen zu sammeln. Um am Cup teilzunehmen gibt es besondere Bestimmungen: So sind nur Fahrer startberechtigt, die in den vergangenen beiden Jahren nicht in die Punkte einer EM (KZ und KZ2) gefahren sind, oder sich für die Finalphase einer KZ WM qualifiziert haben. Darüber hinaus sind die Top-Ten der DSKM aus dem Vorjahr nicht für den DMSB Schalt Kart Cup startberechtigt. Andersherum dürfen die fünfbestplatzierten Piloten des DSKC im Folgejahr nicht wieder im Cup antreten, sondern müssen in die DKM oder DSKM wechseln.

Alter: ab 15 Jahre
Chassis: freigestellt nach KZ2-Reglement
Motoren: freigestellt nach KZ2-Reglement
Getriebe: 6-Gangschaltung
Hubraum: 125 ccm
Drehzahl: 14000 U/min
Leistung: ca. 45 PS
Geschwindigkeit: 180 km/h
Gesamtgewicht: 178 kg