Short and sweet: Exciting DKM season 2020


The 2020 season of the German Kart Championship is one for the history books. Due to the Corona pandemic, the racing season started later than ever and only included four races in the end. Nevertheless, the drivers and teams experienced thrilling races with great winners in these three months: Juho Valtenen (DKM), Chris Haanen (DJKM), Jorrit Pex (DSKM) and Tim Tröger (DSKC).

The DKM’s kick-off on the traditional race track in Kerpen only took place at the beginning of August and it was an immediate heat battle for the drivers. Just two weeks later, things continued in Kerpen again. The second half of the DKM season included races in Wackersdorf and Oschersleben.

In the German Kart Championship (OK), Kas Haverkort (SFR Motorsport) showed a brilliant start. He won both races in Kerpen. From the second event on, he wasn’t a part of it anymore though and left the field to the other drivers. Juho Valtanen (TB Racing Team) and Luca Griggs (SFR Motorsport) were the title favorites. A preliminary decision came at the next-to-last event in Wackersdorf. Griggs collided with Valtanen during an overtaking maneuver and both had to drop out of the race – plus a disqualification for the Brit. At the final event in Oschersleben, there was no stopping Finn Juho Valtanen anymore. He dominated the whole racing weekend and thereby achieved the title. Griggs followed as Vice Champion in front of the best German driver Ben Dörr (TB Racing Team). The remaining places in the top five went to Moritz Wiskirchen and Joel Mesch, both also drivers of the TB Racing Team.

At the OK Juniors of the German Junior Kart Championship, Kris Haanen (SFR Motorsport) from the Netherlands was unstoppable. The youngster won all races in Kerpen and Wackersdorf and was already the Champion before the final event in Oschersleben. He is the fourth Dutchman in a row to win the DJKM title. All that was left to decide on the high-speed track in Oschersleben was who would become Vice Champion. German driver Herolind Nuredini (CV Performance Group) had the best chances and used these by achieving two second places. Mathias Bjerre Jakobsen (RS Competition) on the other hand managed to end up on the winners’ list. In very mixed weather, the Dane celebrated a double victory. On fourth and fifth places of the overall list of rankings were Kiano Blum (TB Racing Team) and Daniel Guinchard (SFR Motorsport).

The quality of the field of participants of the German Shifterkart Championship (KZ2) was very impressive, including four former Champions. And it was these champions who dominated the fight for the title during the course of this season too. Contrary to the other categories, the DSKM only consisted of three racing weekends. In the end, Jorrit Pex (SP Motorsport) came out on top again. With two victories and four second places, he was the driver with the most points. Therefore, he won the title for the seventh time and made history again. His direct pursuer was his brother Stan Pex (SP Motorsport). The reigning Champion won one more race than his brother, but lost his chances of winning the title due to a difficult season kick-off in Kerpen. On third place followed another race winner and former DSKM-Champion: Fabian Federer (SRP Racing Team). The two German drivers Alexander Schmitz (BirelART Racing KSW) and David Trefilov (SRP Racing Team) followed on fourth and fifth places.

The cards were dealt anew in the DMSB Shifterkart Cup (KZ2) – the first five drivers of the previous year rose up and made way for new drivers. One could already see a high power density at the first event in Kerpen. As the final winner, local driver Julian Müller (Mach1 Motorsport) experienced a perfect start into the season. His team mate Tim Tröger (Mach1 Motorsport) won the following races in Kerpen and Wackersdorf. Therefore, before the final event in Oschersleben, there were four title favorites: The two Mach1-drivers as well as

Lasse Karlshøj (LE Racing) and Coen Doorn (A.K. Doorn). Even though Karlshøj won the final, Tröger won the Championship title. The Danish Oschersleben-winner became Vice Champion in front of Müller. The top three were only apart by ten Championship points in the end. Doorn ended up on fourth place in front of rookie Simon Connor Primm (Valier Motorsport).

At three races, the German Electric Kart Championship took place too. At his third try, Luka Wlömer from Berlin won the title and is happy about an extensive sponsoring program.